Justice Involved Veteran

The Justice Involved Veteran (JIV) Program works to improve veteran services across the entire criminal justice continuum. The JIV Managers serve as resource to provide technical assistance and training to all Veteran Treatment Courts across Texas.


The JIV Program also partners with the local and state law enforcement to deliver officers relevant trainings such as trauma affected veterans and crisis intervention strategies. JIV Managers also collaborate with the local jail and state prison systems to better ensure that incarcerated veterans have access to veteran-specific services and programming.

Military Veteran Peer Network is TVC Certified

Cynthia Gray, M.S. LPC-A

Justice Involved Veteran PROGRAM MANAGER

 

Terri Williams, LPC

 Justice Involved Veteran PROGRAM MANAGER

 

Justice Involved Veterans Resources

Veterans Sequential Intercept Model (V-SIM)

The National Institute of Correction worked collaboratively with SAMSHA, the VA, and members of the Justice Involved Veterans Network to adapt the sequential intercept model to the justice-involved veteran population. Highlights interventions that may be more effective at a given stage considering the needs of the veteran.

Veteran Intercepts in the Criminal Justice System Intro
Veteran Intercepts the Criminal Justice System Intercepts 0-1

Website Resources

Check out of your unit; check in to ours. Combined Arms is a one-stop resource for veterans in transition. Through a combined effort with our 165+ member organizations, we offer holistic support in a customized and efficient way.

The 2021 version of the Federal Benefits for Veterans Dependents and Survivors.

Treatment courts are the most successful intervention in our nation’s history for leading people living with substance use and mental health disorders out of the justice system and into lives of recovery and stability.

Justice For Vets is a national training and techinical assistance provider for the Bureau of Justice Assistance within the Office of Justice Programs at the U.S. Department of Justice.

To provide public safety, promote positive change in offender behavior, reintegrate offenders into society, and assist victims of crime.

The Texas Legislature created the Commission on Jail Standards in 1975 to implement a declared state policy that all county jail facilities conform to minimum standards of construction, maintenance and operation.

Texas Suicide Prevention initiative is the result of a collaborative effort throughout the state of Texas of community-based organizations, state and local agencies, academic institutions, and many others who work together to reduce suicides in Texas.

Veterans can sometimes run into issues with law enforcement and the criminal justice system resulting in incarceration. It is important justice-involved Veterans are familiar with VA benefits including what VA benefits they may still be eligible to receive.

Documents

TVC’s Justice Involved Veteran Program FAQ

Veteran Intercepts in the Criminal Justice System

Veterans Sequential Intercept Model (V-SIM)

Veterans Treatment Court Program Annual Report 2023

ACT: Texas House Bill Number 865

The Ten Key Compinents of Veterans Treatment Courts

National Institute of Justice Five Things About Reentry

Veterans Affairs Justice Involved Veterans Benefits

Veterans Treatment Courts Fact Sheet

A Motivating Factor for Seeking Treatment in VTC

A Guidebook for Veterans Incarcerated in Texas

Multisite Evaluation of Veterans Treatment Courts

Justice Involved Veterans Network

HCRV Brochure
October 2023

Veteran Treatment Courts Contacts

Contact
Phone
Email
Bell County
Melanie Daniels
254-444-7173
melanie.daniels@bellcounty.texas.gov
Bexar County Felony
John Herman
210-753-4368
johnpherman@bexar.org
Bexar County Misdemeanor
Roberto Ruiz
210-335-2639
roberto.ruiz@bexar.org
Brazoria County
Hunter Pirtle
979-864-1943
hunterp@brazoriacountytx.gov
Cameron County
Elva Olivo
956-547-7034
elva.olivo01@co.cameron.tx.us
Collin County
Amanda Garcia
469-974-7731
amagarcia@co.collin.tx.us
Comal County
Laura Balo
830-221-1122
balola@co.comal.tx.us
Dallas County
Jerry Barker
214-653-5935
jerry.barker@dallascounty.org
Denton County
Tami Russell
940-349-2188
tami.russell@dentoncounty.gov
Duvall County
Jerry Alva
956-523-4872
galva@webbcounty.gov
El Paso County
Yvonne Whitaker
915-546-2119 Ext 4478
yvwhitaker@epcounty.com
Fannin County
Amanda Garcia
469-974-7731
veteranscourt@co.collin.tx.us
Fort Bend County
Amarantha Richards
281-341-4446
amarantha.richardsccl2@fortbendcountytx.gov
Galveston County
Christopher James
409-765-2679
Christopher.james@galvestoncountytx.gov
Grayson County
Amanda Garcia
469-974-7731
veteranscourt@co.collin.tx.us
Guadalupe County
Doreen Luehlfing
830-303-8867
doreenl@co.guadalupe.tx.us
Harris County Felony
Mashala Dixon
346-286-5673
mashala.dixon@csc.hctx.net
Harris County Misdemeanor
Mashala Dixon
346-286-5673
mashala.dixon@csc.hctx.net
Hays County
Gerald Ramcharan
512-618-0474
gerald.ramcharan@co.hays.tx.us
Hidalgo County
Taylor Ramirez
956-587-6000 ext 4580
taylor.ramirez@hidalgocountycscd.org
Jefferson County
Andrias Lowe
346-234-3159
andrias.lowe@va.gov
Jim Hogg County
Jerry Alva
956-523-4872
galva@webbcountytx.gov
Jim Wells County
Jerry Alva
956-523-4872
galva@webbcountytx.gov
Kaufman County
Amanda Garcia
469-974-7731
veteranscourt@co.collin.tx.us
Liberty County
Judge Marvin Powell
713-569-3650
judgetestifies@sbcglobal.net
Maverick County
Jerry Alva
956-523-4872
galva@webbcountytx.gov
McLennan County
Amy Lowrey
254-759-7557
amy.lowrey@co.mclennan.tx.us
Midland County
Heather Henderson
432.688.4385
hhenderson@mcounty.com
Montgomery County
Yolanda Alatorre
936-539-7900
yolanda.alatorre@mctx.org
Nueces County
Laura Salinas
361-888-0510
laura.salinas@nuecesco.com
Potter County
Josh Crawford
806-379-2338
CrawfordJ@pottercscd.org
Rockwell County
Amanda Garcia
469-974-7731
veteranscourt@co.collin.tx.us
Smith County Felony
Michael Roark
903-590-2950
mroark@smith-county.com
Smith County Misdemeanor
Michael Roark
903-590-2950
mroark@smith-county.com
Starr County
Jerry Alva
656-523-4872
galva@webbcountytx.gov
Tarrant County Felony
Courtney Young
817-884-3754
cdyoung@tarrantcountytx.gov
Tarrant County Misdemeanor
Courtney Young
817-884-3754
cdyoung@tarrantcountytx.gov
Travis County
Jolene Grajczyk
512-854-3856
jolene.grajczyk@traviscountytx.gov
Val Verde County
Mayra Quicksall
830-703-8294
mquicksall@valverdecounty.texas.gov
Webb County
Jerry Alva
956-523-4710
galva@webbcountytx.gov
Williamson County
Erin Lucas
512-943-1664
erin.lucas@wilco.org
Zapata County
Jerry Alva
956-523-4872
galva@webbcountytx.gov

Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Posted:    09-29-2023
Closes:    10-10-2023

Job Posting No:    040138TC01

Payroll Title:    HUMAN SERV SPEC VII
Extended Title:    Veteran Services  

Salary: GR. B17 – ($3927.18 / Monthly)

Vacancy Location:    Huntsville, TX
Unit/Dept:    Reentry and Integration Division

Major course work in Behavioral Science, Criminal Justice,
Social Work, or a related field preferred.

Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Posted:    09-29-2023
Closes:    10-10-2023

Job Posting No:    040138TC

Payroll Title:    HUMAN SERV SPEC VII
Extended Title:    Veteran Services  

Salary: GR. B17 – ($3927.18 / Monthly)

Vacancy Location:    Austin, TX
Unit/Dept:    Reentry and Integration Division

Major course work in Behavioral Science, Criminal Justice,
Social Work, or a related field preferred.

Looking for Local Community Events or Trainings?

Join Us

Join Our Network


When you register to become a volunteer, you can meet other veterans, get help and support and find resources. It's free for all. Register now.

JOIN TODAY >>

Member Log-In


Already a registered Chapter Volunteer? Log in to access your community and resources.

MEMBER LOG-IN >>